Frühgeburt ist ein globales Problem. Prematurity is a global problem. La prématurité est un problème global.

Causes

and

detection

Premature delivery is a complex topic whose cause cannot be reduced to a single aspect since it is multi-factorial and complex problem [3]. A distinction is made between maternal and foetal causes. While the foetal causes are mainly malformations that can trigger premature birth, there are many different components with the mother. Recognised risk factors are premature contractions or premature birth in a previous pregnancy, diabetes mellitus, vaginal or urinary tract infections, placental insufficiency, hypertensive diseases during pregnancy, nicotine, or drug misuse and young or high maternal age. All these (and other) criteria increase the risk of premature birth [4].

Due to the various factors for premature birth, identifying pregnant women at risk of premature birth is a big challenge in obstetrics. In addition to this, the majority of women with spontaneous premature births do not exhibit any of the known risk factors for possible premature birth [4].

The ability of the cervix to fulfil its different roles during gestation is fundamental to ensure a timely and successful delivery, and therefore there is a strong clinical interest in evaluating its condition. Digitally palpating the cervix during a pelvic exam has been the primary way to assess cervical status in ancient times, by evaluation of cervical stiffness, length and dilation [5].

Since the introduction of ultrasound, the length of the cervix has become, to a certain extent, a measurable parameter for the estimation of the risk of premature birth. However, cervical stiffness remained a subjective evaluation, strongly dependent upon the experience of the examiner [6]. In addition, cervical length measured using ultrasound alone is inexact [7], consequently, examination of other parameters was already started quite some time ago.  Among others, a research team showed in 2011 that the significance of cervical stiffness is better than its length in regard to a possible premature birth [8].

Pregnolia has developed the first device for an exact measurement of cervical stiffness, in order to improve the prediction of possible premature birth together with other parameters so that individualised therapies can be implemented at an early stage if needed.

References

[3] Amylidi-Mohr, S. & Müller, M. (2018) Biomarker und Ultraschall zur Frühgeburtsdiagnostik: Wo stehen wir heute? Gynäkologie; 2:6–11

[4] Caren G. Solomon, M.D., M.P.H., Editor Prevention of Preterm Parturition Jay D. lams. M.D. N Engl J Med 2014; 370:254- 261January 16, 2014DOI: 10.1056/NEJMcp1103640)

[5] Feltovich H., Cervical evaluation, Obstet Gynecol. 2017;130:51-63.

[6] Badir, S., Bernardi, L., Delgado, F. F., Quack Loetscher, K., Hebisch, G. & Hösli, I. (2020) Aspiration technique-based device is more reliable in cervical stiffness assessment than digital palpation. BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth.

[7] Iams, J. D., Goldenberg, R. L., Meis, P. J., Mercer, B. M., Moawad, A., Das, A., Thom, E., McNellis, D., Copper, R. L., Johnson, F. & Roberts, J. M. und das National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Maternal Fetal Medicine Unit Net­work (1996) The length of the cervix and the risk of spontaneous premature delivery. N Engl J Med.; 334:567–72.

[8] Parra-Saavedra, M., Gómez, L., Barrero, A., Parra, G., Vergara, F. & Navarro, E. (2011) Prediction of preterm birth using the cervical consistency index. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol; 38:44–51.

Frühgeburt ist ein globales Problem. Prematurity is a global problem. La prématurité est un problème global.

Ursachen

und

Erkennung

Frühgeburtlichkeit ist ein komplexes Thema. Die Ursachen lassen sich nicht auf eine Problematik reduzieren, denn sie sind multifaktoriell und vielschichtig [3]. Es wird zwischen mütterlichen und kindlichen Ursachen unterschieden. Während es bei Föten mehrheitlich Fehlbildungen sind, die eine Frühgeburt auslösen können, sind es bei der Mutter viele unterschiedliche Komponenten. Anerkannte Risikofaktoren sind vorzeitige Wehen oder Frühgeburt in einer vorhergehenden Schwangerschaft, Diabetes, Vaginalinfekte oder Harnweginfekte, Plazentainsuffizienz, hypertensive Erkrankungen in der Schwangerschaft, Nikotin- oder Drogenmissbrauch und junges oder hohes mütterliches Alter. All diese (und weitere) Kriterien erhöhen das Risiko für eine Frühgeburt [4].

 

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Faktoren für Frühgeburten ist die Identifizierung von Schwangeren mit Frühgeburtsrisiko eine grosse Herausforderung in der Geburtshilfe. Hinzu kommt, dass eine Mehrheit der Frauen mit spontanen Frühgeburten keine der bekannten Risikofaktoren für eine mögliche Frühgeburt aufweist [4].

 

Eine Frühgeburt kann ohne vorherige Anzeichen auftreten. Ein wichtiger Indikator zur Bestimmung des Frühgeburtsrisikos ist die Beschaffenheit des Gebärmutterhalses (Zervix). Während der Schwangerschaft wird die Zervix immer weicher und verkürzt sich. Dies bewirkt, dass sich die Zervix bei der Geburt vollständig öffnen kann. Eine sehr weiche Zervix kann ein Anzeichen für eine bevorstehende Frühgeburt sein. Daher besteht schon lange ein starkes klinisches Interesse an der Bewertung ihres Zustands.

Das digitale Abtasten der Zervix war schon in der Antike die wichtigste Methode zur Beurteilung der Steifigkeit, Länge und Dilatation der Zervix [5].

Seit Einführung des Ultraschalls wurde die Länge der Zervix bis zu einem gewissen Mass zu einem messbaren Parameter für die Einschätzung des Frühgeburtsrisikos. Die Steifigkeit der Zervix blieb jedoch eine subjektive Bewertung, stark abhängig von der Erfahrung der untersuchenden Person [6]. Dazu kommt, dass die gemessene Zervixlänge mittels Ultraschalles allein ungenau ist [7], daher begann man schon länger, weitere Parameter zu untersuchen. So hat etwa ein Forschungsteam im Jahr 2011 aufgezeigt, dass die Messung der Steifigkeit der Zervix eine höhere Aussagekraft hinsichtlich des Risikos einer Frühgeburt hat als die Längenmessung [8].

Pregnolia hat das erste Gerät für eine genaue Messung der Zervixsteifigkeit entwickelt, um mit anderen Parametern zusammen die Vorhersage einer möglichen Frühgeburt zu verbessern. Damit können, wenn nötig, frühzeitig und individuelle Therapien umgesetzt werden.

Referenzen

[3] Amylidi-Mohr, S. & Müller, M. (2018) Biomarker und Ultraschall zur Frühgeburtsdiagnostik: Wo stehen wir heute? Gynäkologie; 2:6–11

[4] Caren G. Solomon, M.D., M.P.H., Editor Prevention of Preterm Parturition Jay D. lams. M.D. N Engl J Med 2014; 370:254- 261January 16, 2014DOI: 10.1056/NEJMcp1103640)

[5] Feltovich H., Cervical evaluation, Obstet Gynecol., 2017;130:51-63.

[6] Badir, S., Bernardi, L., Delgado, F. F., Quack Loetscher, K., Hebisch, G. & Hösli, I. (2020) Aspiration technique-based device is more reliable in cervical stiffness assessment than digital palpation. BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth.

[7] Iams, J. D., Goldenberg, R. L., Meis, P. J., Mercer, B. M., Moawad, A., Das, A., Thom, E., McNellis, D., Copper, R. L., Johnson, F. & Roberts, J. M. und das National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Maternal Fetal Medicine Unit Net­work (1996) The length of the cervix and the risk of spontaneous premature delivery. N Engl J Med.; 334:567–72.

[8] Parra-Saavedra, M., Gómez, L., Barrero, A., Parra, G., Vergara, F. & Navarro, E. (2011) Prediction of preterm birth using the cervical consistency index. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol; 38:44–51.

© 2021 by Pregnolia | Datenschutz