© 2019 by Pregnolia | Privacy Policy

INFORMATION
FOR
PROFESSIONALS

Pregnolia develops a medical device for the improvement of pregnancy care. The device is the result of several years of academic research at ETH Zurich and University Hospital Zurich and allows to measure cervical stiffness. The CE-marking is expected for spring 2019.

ADVANTAGES OF THE PREGNOLIA System[1]

  • quantitative und objective measurement of cervical stiffness

  • simple and painless application

  • the changes in biomechanical properties of the cervix are detected earlier before the cervical length changes

how the device works

The Pregnolia System consists of a probe and a control unit with display. The probe is placed on the anterior lip of the cervix with the help of a speculum. By pressing the button, which can also be activated by the foot, a weak vacuum is created. The softer the tissue, the lower the required vacuum to deform the tissue up to 4mm. Within a few seconds, the device determines the cervical stiffness in the means of the required negative  pressure (pcl in mbar).

Studies

A prototype of the Pregnolia System has already been tested on 50 non-pregnant and 50 pregnant women. The study has shown that the cervix softens, before it shortens. This characteristics allows to detect cervical changes earlier with the Pregnolia System than by an ultrasound assessment [1].

First clinical data (n=1115) have shown [2] that women with a soft cervix have more often a spontaneous preterm birth than women with a physiologic cervical maturation.

 

In the ongonig multicenter study SoftCervix [3], the correlation of cervical length and stiffnesss with the time of delivery is further investigated. The results of this study are expected in 2019.

[1]    Badir, S. et al. (2013). Cervical softening occurs early in pregnancy:    characterization of cervical stiffness in 100 healthy women using the aspiration technique. Prenat Diagn, 33(8), 737–741

[2]    Parra-Saavedra, M. et al. (2011). Prediction of preterm birth using the cervical consistency index. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol, 38(1), 44–51

[3]   https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02037334 (Stand 08.03.2018)

Newsletter

© 2019 by Pregnolia | Datenschutz

INFORMATIONEN
FÜR
FACHPERSONEN

Pregnolia entwickelt ein Messgerät zur Verbesserung der medizinischen Betreuung in der Schwangerschaft. Mit dem Messgerät, das aus einem Forschungsprojekt der ETH mit dem Universitätsspital Zürich hervorgegangen ist, lässt sich die Steifigkeit der Zervix bestimmen. Eine CE-Kennzeichnung wird für Frühling 2019 erwartet.

vorteile des pregnolia Systems[1]

  • Quantitative und objektive Messung der Zervixsteifigkeit

  • Einfache und schmerzlose Anwendung

  • Die Veränderung der biomechanischen Eigenschaft der Zervix ist messbar, bevor eine Verkürzung sichtbar wird

So funktioniert
das Gerät

Das Pregnolia System besteht aus einer Sonde und einer Kontrolleinheit mit Display. Zur Messung der Zervixsteifigkeit wird die Sonde durch das Spekulum auf den vorderen Muttermund aufgesetzt. Durch die Bedienung des Startknopfes wird ein Vakuum in der Sonde aufgebaut. Je weicher das Gewebe, desto schwächer muss das Vakuum sein. Das Gewebe wird um 4mm in die Sonde verformt. Innerhalb weniger Sekunden bestimmt das Messgerät so die Steifigkeit des Gewebes und zeigt auf dem Display die Zervixsteifigkeit als Unterdruckwert (pcl in mbar) an.

studien

Ein Prototyp des Pregnolia Systems wurde bereits in einer Studie an 50 nicht schwangeren Frauen und 50 Schwangeren getestet. Die Studie hat gezeigt, dass die Zervix erweicht bevor sie sich verkürzt (Abbildung 1). Dadurch wird die Veränderung der Zervix mit dem Pregnolia System früher erfasst als durch die Ultraschallmessung [1].

Erste klinische Daten (n=1115) zeigen [2], dass Schwangere mit einer weichen Zervix viel häufiger spontane Frühgeburten haben, als Frauen mit einer physiologischen Zervixreifung (Abbildung 2).

In der multizentrischen klinischen Studie «SoftCervix»[3], wird aktuell erforscht, wie die Länge und Steifigkeit der Zervix mit dem Geburtszeitpunkt korrelieren. Die Ergebnisse der Studie werden für 2019 erwartet. 

[1]    Badir, S. et al. (2013). Cervical softening occurs early in pregnancy:    characterization of cervical stiffness in 100 healthy women using the aspiration technique. Prenat Diagn, 33(8), 737–741

[2]    Parra-Saavedra, M. et al. (2011). Prediction of preterm birth using the cervical consistency index. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol, 38(1), 44–51

[3]   https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02037334 (Stand 08.03.2018)

Newsletter